Select Page

Board of Trustees

Home » Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees  is the governing body of The International College of the Cayman Islands. At present there are 14 members, including a faculty representative, although it can have as many as 20 members. Three of the trustees are International College Alumni. The board meets at least three times a year, usually on campus.

The Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, the national organization for higher education governance and leadership, describes the role of a board of trustees as follows:

Trustees of independent colleges and universities are surrogates of the general public. They are responsible for acting on behalf of their fellow citizens and institutional founders as their individual consciences and best judgment dictate.

A governing board’s fundamental responsibility is to chart the institution’s course and ensure that the institution has the resources it needs to fulfill its mission. The board also has a unique fiduciary role in finance and budgeting, in endowment and investment management, and in preserving and expanding physical resources. In addition, the board ordinarily is called on to participate in fundraising activities.

Specific responsibilities of the board of trustees include:

  • Setting and clarifying the institution’s mission and purpose
  • Appointing the President, supporting the President, and evaluating the President’s performance
  • Assessing its own performance as a board
  • Supporting the institution’s engagement in sound strategic planning
  • Reviewing the institution’s educational and public service programs
  • Participating in fundraising
  • Ensuring good institutional management
  • Preserving institutional independence
  • Relating the campus to the outside community and the outside community to the campus
  • Approving policies

Current Roster: The International College of the Cayman Islands Board of Trustees:


  • Wayne McManus (Chair)
  • Matthew Adam
  • Anand Adapa
  • Winston Connolly
  • April Cummings
  • Dr. Elsa Cummings, President Emerita
  • Amy Gage
  • Yolanda McCoy (Vice-Chair)
  • Mike Mannisto
  • Raul Nicholson-Coe
  • Lucille Seymour
  • James Whittaker
  • Brian Williams
  • Colleen Williams
  • Ormond Williams

Trustees Emeriti

  • Audrey Ebanks (Posthumously)
  • George McCarthy, George Town
  • Carlyle McLaughlin, West Bay